Prime Minister Charlot Salwai has appointed three new State Ministers; two replacing the ousted former Minister of Public Utilities, Jotham Napat, and former Agriculture Minister Matai Seremaiah, and a reshuffle in the Ministry of Justice.

Torres MP Christophe Emelee is now the new Minister of Public Utilities and Infrastructure, the new Minister for Agriculture, Forestry, Livestock, Fisheries and Biodiversity is Santo Rural MP Hosea Nevu, replacing former Minister Matai Seremaiah.

The Prime Minister also appointed Malekula MP Don Ken, to take over the portfolio of Justice Minister as the former Minister and Santo Rural MP Ronald Warsal, stepped down to pave way for this appointment, following an arrangement between the VP and the coalition government. According to PM Salwai, this arrangement is to ensure the current government remains solid until the end of its term.

PM Salwai has taken over the portfolios of Maritime, Shipping Registry and Ports and Harbor and said he will shortly appoint a Political Secretary to be responsible for Maritime, Shipping Registry and Port and Harbor institutions.

During the swearing in of the three new state ministers, the Prime Minister assured the country that the government he leads has the support of 35 MPs in the national parliament and it will remain in power until the end of its term in 2020.

Commenting to the Daily Post afterwards, a Political Advisor in the Prime Minister’s Office remarked: “In politics you don’t have to give reasons for the ‘hiring and firing’ of state ministers and political appointees,” he said.

The swearing-in ceremony took place in the Prime Minister’s Office on Saturday evening.