Four teams will be competing in a Vanuatu Football Federation (VFF) Women’s Championship League to determine a winner to represent Vanuatu in the Oceania Football Confederation (OFC) Women’s Championship League in March this year.

Lakotai FC of Tafea Football Association (FA), Waterfall FC of Torba FA, Tokotara FC of Penama FA and Vanuatu current champion, Tafea FC of Port Vila FA will represent their Member Associations (MA) in the tournament in Port Vila next month, as they meet the OFC criteria.

According to OFC criteria, clubs must meet certain standards of participating in a national championship tournament and being part of a pool classmen and only the four were determined during the last VFF Congress in Ambrym last year.

VFF confirmed that as approved in the Institution’s calendar last year, all Ma’s affiliated under the body should be under selection in preparation towards the OFC tournament but unfortunately only the four FAs had been confirmed to make preparations.

VFF Competitions Manager, Bong Shem, said: “OFC is already been notified and paperwork’s have been submitted to the OFC Competitions Desk about the championship tournament next month which only the three teams were qualified including Tafea FC of PVFA who is champion of the 2021-2022 season.

This team has also great players which is a plus for the team.”

Last year, Papua New Guinea hosted the OFC Women’s Championship League but Vanuatu was unable to participate however, Vanuatu is hoping for a best performance this year.

VFF reminds the public that the national football body has its plans in place and is committed to fulfilling its commitments.

The draw for the OFC tournament in Solomon Islands had been confirmed and moving up from its inaugural edition in PNG last year with 5 years, has moved up to eight specific teams this year.

Vanuatu is drawn In Pool A with PNG’s tough Hekari team, Solomon Islands’ Henderson Eels FC and Cook Islands Avatiu FC.