The new MAV Executive after the AGM and election. (Photo by Sista)

Ms Lillyrose Welwel has been elected as the new President of the Media Association blong Vanuatu (MAV).

She replaces outgoing MAV President, Mr. Stevenson Liu from the Vanuatu Broadcasting and Television Corporation (VBTC).

The new Vice President of MAV is Charles Sumbe from VBTC; the new Secretary is Loic Teilemb (Communications, French Embassy); Vice Secretary Kiranga Taufa (FM107); Treasurer Besse Ishmael (Vanuatu Daily Post), and Vice Treasurer Fern Napwatt (Communications, Department of Energy).

The members are Richard Naunea (Office of the Ombudsman) and Witnol Tor (Social Media representative).

The new MAV President has reminded members they own MAV and assured them the new executive will be working to respond to their concerns, starting next week.

Ms Welwel has been in the media industry for over a decade and worked at VBTC before leaving to handle communications for the China Civil Engineering Construction Corporation (CCECC) Limited, and now, Youth Challenge Vanuatu.