The Port Vila City Council of Women held its Annual Conference for 2021 on Monday April 19 at the Presbyterian Church’s Owen Hall.

The official guest at the opening of the Conference was Chief Vinbel Hanhapath, Chairman of the Port Vila City Council of Chiefs who stressed the importance of ensuring all families living in this city are always safe and free from violence and crime, and as leaders we must all work together in unity to achieve this goal.

According to Leias Cullwick, Executive Director of the Vanuatu National Council of women (VNCW), the Conference received reports 2018 to 2021 from the Interim President of the Port Vila City Council of Women, Mrs. Wendy Garae, as well as reports from Southern, Anamburu, Central, Northern and the Freshwota/Tassiriki Ward Councils of Women.

Cullwick says, an election was held commencing 3pm and ending 4.10pm and the following women were elected as the new Executive Committee of the Port Vila City Council of Women 2021 to 2025: Mrs. Jane Iatika as President, Mrs. Wendy Garae as Vice-President, Mrs. Leimara Malachi as Secretary, Ms. Norah Taiwia Vice-Secretary, Mrs. Marie Kalkoa Treasurer and Mrs. Mary Molti Vice-Treasurer.

In regards to the 5 ward councils of women, Cullwick says the following ladies are their presidents, Mrs. Marie Kalkoa South Ward, Mrs. Annie Hinge Central Ward, Mrs. Leimara Malachi Anamburu Ward, Mrs. Jane Iatika Freshwota/Tassiriki Ward and Mrs. Amy Siro North Ward.